Walking to Stumptown for coffee this morning, I wondered what emotions people could have carried over from Obama’s victory. Last night, my usually shy husband ran down Pike St. screaming and hi-fiving every car we passed. I danced in a drum circle, which I haven’t done since I went through a hippie phase the summer after my freshman year of college.

Later in the morning, I stopped by the newsstand at Pike Place market to buy a copy of the P-I with Obama on the front under the headline, “Change Has Come to America”. A TV reporter from the CBC was there, and he asked me how I felt about our President-elect. I talked about how last night I marched in a make-shift parade with hundreds of people from Capitol Hill to where we were standing in the middle of downtown. I told him about the drumming and dancing. “It was electrifying,” I said. Then he asked what was electrifying about it, and my mind went blank. All I could think of was something Tom Brokaw said on the Today Show this morning about how what counts now is the follow-through. I told the reporter something generic about how we needed to roll up our sleeves and get ready to work hard to make the country better.

But as much as the dreamy part of my head wanted to find some sort of instant transformation today, everyone walking to work this morning was acting normally reserved. And so was I, wearing the same jacket I always do, same converse, same face. I was this strange mix of blue blood in a purple heart, just as easily a unifier as a bruiser.

