There was a huge blizzard in Indiana the winter before I was born. My mom talks about the storm in this mythic way–she remembers being very pregnant, gearing up in a snowmobile suit and trekking to the grocery for bread and liters of water. The pipes were in danger of bursting and everyone was stuck in our subdivision for days.

After hearing that story as a kid and thrilled at the notion of a real adventure , I was always prepared for some week-long whiteout that would trap us inside. In anticipation, I used to pull every blanket we owned in the tub of our extra bathroom along with water, Cheerios, a flashlight, battery-powered radio, stuffed bear, and the Bible.

Seattle has had more snow and ice and slush this last week than any time in recent memory and I found myself wanting to bring an updated emergency kit into the bathroom in case–the Bible could stay, but we’d add bourbon, marzipan fruits, and cards for gin rummy to the mix.

