In 1996, a group of friends including Michael Stipe and Grant Lee Phillips got together in a hotel room and decided to write a haiku a day for a year. Soft Skull published a book of favorite haiku from the experiment called The Haiku Year. Thanks to Google, you can sample it here.

haiku year

I used to write a lot of haiku in college. Western style, so I never worried about the 5-7-5 rule. And I’m realizing that journaling, freelancing, and blogging don’t fill the same space as writing haiku. I’ll yawn and stretch and try a few now. It’s been years since I’ve done this, so I’m pretty rusty, but here goes.

If you’re so inclined, try writing three short, descriptive lines about your day today, and send them to me in a comment.

*

Not eating much of anything
except everything
Waiting for his test results

Can’t lift my arm high enough
to grab a sweater in the closet
Damn tetnus shot

Buttoning my flannel shirt
with the lights off
like I’m back high school

Sitting on the couch
eating salted almonds
Feels like vacation

