It won’t be long until I loose any and all desire to eat soup. Even though it snowed in Seattle yesterday (ouch!) we’re quickly moving away from the shortest days of the year. So while it’s still the season, I requested matzo ball soup from my mom at our Monday family dinner last night, which she made beautifully. And a few days back I made a favorite recipe I found last year and modified a bit. It’s the fastest meal I know how to make:

Lemony Soup with Rainbow Orzo and Chard

Rainbow Orzo: one big handful per person

Rainbow Chard: two chopped handfuls per person

Fresh Lemon Juice: from 1/2 lemon per person

White Beans: rinsed, 1/2 cup per person

Veggie Stock: 2 cups per person

Garlic, Salt, Pepper: to taste

Parmesan Reggiano: if you wanna

1. Sautee garlic in a little olive oil

2. Add chopped chard, sautee until tender

3. Boil orzo al dente, drain and set aside

4. In a big pot, heat white beans, chard, sautee, veg stock, lemon juice

5. Serve with a dust of parmesan, salt and pepper, and good bread. Yeah!

